About Us

The CyberBRICS project has a triple aim: to map existing regulations; to identify good practices and develop policy suggestions in the areas of i) cybersecurity and personal data regulations; ii) connectivity and digital transformation; and iii) artificial intelligence governance and industrial policy in the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa).

The project is hosted by the CTS-FGV, the Center for Technology and Society at Fundação Getulio Vargas (FGV) Law School, Rio de Janeiro, and developed in partnership with the Higher School of Economics, Moscow; Jindal Global Law School and the Centre for Internet and Society, India; the Fudan University, Shanghai, and the Hong Kong University; and the Nelson Mandela University and Research ICT Africa, South Africa.

The project stems from the consideration that, over the next decade, projected Internet growth is expected to occur predominantly in Asia, Latin America and Africa and, particularly, in BRICS countries. The next billion users, together with the innovation and data they will produce and the policy they will need, will likely come from the BRICS. In light of this consideration, BRICS countries are increasing their cooperation in the fields of science and technology and promoting synergies with regard to digital policies.

As stressed by the BRICS leaders themselves: “Information and communications technologies provide citizens with new tools for the effective functioning of economy, society and state […] and the use and development of ICTs through international cooperation and universally accepted norms and principles of international law is of paramount importance in order to ensure a peaceful, secure and open digital and Internet space.” 

While the expansion of connectivity and the rise of new information and communications technologies (ICTs) have generated opportunities for individuals and businesses, they also pose a number of challenges, with particular regard to the regulation of personal data and cybersecurity governance.

CyberBRICS aims at offering answers to such challenges, providing valuable – and so far inexistent – insights on BRICS digital policies, based on rigorously collected evidence that can be used by researchers, regulators and businesses alike.

The members of the CyberBRICS Advisory Board offer advice and guidance regarding the development of the CyberBRICS research and suggest stakeholders to be included in the CyberBRICS network.

CyberBRICS Advisory Board

Alison Gillwald

Alison Gillwald

Director, Research ICT Africa and Professor, Nelson Mandela School of Public Governance University of Cape Town

Benedicto Fonseca Filho

Benedicto Fonseca Filho

Ambassador, Brazilian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Nikhil Pahwa

Nikhil Pahwa

Founder and Editor, MediaNama

Shen Yi

Shen Yi

Director, Center for BRICS Studies, and Professor, Fudan University

Alexey Ivanov

Alexey Ivanov

Director, BRICS Competition Policy Center, and Professor, Higher School of Economics, Moscow

Elonnai Hickok

Elonnai Hickok

Chief Operating Officer, Centre for Internet and Society

Sergio Suchodolski

Sergio Suchodolski

President, Minas Gerais Development Bank, former Director of Strategy, New Development Bank (BRICS Bank)

Панова В.В. Фото

Victoria Panova

Vice-President for International Relations, FEFU; Scientific Supervisor, BRICS Russia Organizing Committee Expert Counsel

Bruno Ramos | ITU

Bruno ramos

Director for the Americas Regional Office, International Telecommunication Union

Evandro Carvalho

Evandro Carvalho

Co-director, Academy of BRICS Laws at Southwest University, Chongqing and Professor, FGV Law School

Sizwe Snail

Sizwe Snail

Admitted and Practicing Attorney, Nelson Mandela University - Adjunct Prof, Fort Hare University - Adjunct Research Fellow

CyberBRICS Associated Scholars

Aashish Srivastava

Monash Business School

Alexandre Veronese

University of Brasilia (UnB)

Anja Kovacs

Director, Internet Democracy Project

Anri van der Spuy

Research ICT Africa

Barrie Sander

FGV School of International Relations

Cláudio Lucena

Paraíba State University

Dara Hallinan

FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institute for Information Infrastructure

Edison Lanza

Organization of American States

Ioannis Lianos

University College London

John Selby

Macquarie University

Marcelo Thompson

University of Hong Kong

Nicolo Zingales

University of Leeds

Pranav M Bidare

Center for Internet and Society

Sohini Chatterjee

Research Department of Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

Torsha Sarkar

Center for Internet and Society

Yong Liu

Hebei Academy of Social Sciences

Abhik Chaudhuri

Tata Consultancy Services

Amba Kak

Mozilla & Asian Privacy Scholars Network

Arindrajit Basu

Center for Internet and Society

Bhavna Sarma

RML National Law University, India

Charley Lewis

Wits University/ICASA

Danilo Doneda

Brazilian Institute of Public Law (IDP)

Francesca Musiani

Centre for Internet and Society, CNRS

Ivar Hartmann


Julien Nocetti

Institut français des relations internationales (IFRI)

Niels ten Oever

University of Amsterdam

Renato Leite Monteiro

University of Sao Paulo

Sunil Abraham

Center for Internet and Society

Yasmin Curzi


Varsha Sewlal

University of South Africa (UNISA)

Aditya Singh Chawla

Center for Internet and Society

Angela Daly

Chinese University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law

Bruno Bioni

University of São Paulo

Carlos Afonso

Executive director, Nupef Institute

Christopher Marsden

University of Sussex

Diego Machado

Rio de Janeiro State University

Hong Xue

Beijing Normal University Institute for Internet Policy & Law

Jess Reia

McGill University

Lucienne Abrahams

Wits University

Nicholas Martin

FIZ Karlsruhe – Leibniz-Institute for Information Infrastructure

Sagwadi Mabunda

PhD Candidate at the University of the Western Cape

Tatiana Indina

Center for New Media and Society

Yasodara Córdova

World Bank Group

Wei Wang

University of Hong Kong

If you conduct research on data protection or cybersecurity in at least one of the BRICS countries and would like to join the CyberBRICS Associated Scholars, please send a request including your CV via email.